LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will feature seven DLC character packs

The highly anticipated LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga releases in less than a month, finally arriving after a series of setbacks and delays. And when it does release, there will be several DLC packs that allow players to purchase additional characters.

According to reports, there will be seven DLC character packs in total, with some available at launch (on April 5) and others available on May 4 (in celebration of Star Wars Day). They can be purchased both individually and collectively as part of the season pass; a few are available immediately to those who pre-order the game only to become available for everyone at a later date.

Brick Fanatics reports that the seven packs include the following characters:

  • The Mandalorian – Din Djarin, Grogu (non-playable), Greef Karga, Cara Dune, IG-11, Kuiil (available April 5)
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story – Young Han Solo, Young Chewbacca, Young Lando Calrissian, Qi’ra, Tobias Beckett, Enfys Nest (available April 5)
  • Classic Character Pack – Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Han Solo, Darth Vader, Lando Calrissian (available April 5 with pre-order; available April 19 to everyone)
  • Trooper Pack – Death Trooper, Incinerator Trooper, Range Trooper, Imperial Shore Trooper, Mimban Stormtrooper (available April 5 with pre-order; available May 4 to everyone)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Jyn Erso, Bodhi Rook, Cassian Andor, K-2SO, Chirrut Imwe, Baze Malbus, Director Krennic (available April 19)
  • The Mandalorian – Ahsoka Tano, Boba Fett, Bo-Katan, Fennec Shand, Moff Gideon (available May 4)
  • The Bad Batch – Hunter, Wrecker, Tech, Crosshair, Echo (available May 4)

In total, there’s 38 additional playable characters (and one non-playable one in Grogu) who will be available for purchase through these DLCs, though it certainly won’t be necessary to buy them to enjoy the game, as the base game itself will apparently feature around 300 playable characters. As someone who is not a fan of DLCs in general (see the early versions of Battlefront 2 as an example of it done poorly), I think this is a good way to do it; there’s tons of content and you can play the whole game without buying extra stuff, but there’s additional characters you can buy for fun if you want. I’m ok with that.

But it is a bit odd what some of these choices are – or, more precisely, what some of these choices aren’t. Of course there’s going to be packs from The Mandalorian, as that’s the big Star Wars brand that’s drawing attention now. And then with the game featuring the nine saga films, it makes sense to bring in characters from the other two “A Star Wars Story” films, as the movies are get the widest range of viewership among fans. And The Bad Batch makes sense too, for much the same reason as The Mandalorian – it’s an ongoing story that will be an easy connection for fans. Beyond that, the Classic Character Pack will feature some characters with the classic lego look (remember the yellow faces?), which seems like something that fits in perfectly with the LEGO games style and brand; I think it’s a very fun idea. So I’m not so much speaking here of the packs that are included (although the Trooper Pack is an interesting inclusion) as to the ones that aren’t, namely anything with The Clone Wars or Rebels. Those two stories are immensely pivotal to the current era of Star Wars storytelling, are both popular with fans, and are feasible for a game like this. It’s notable that characters like Ahsoka and Bo-Katan are included, but in The Mandalorian packs.

It’s quite strange that nothing from those two shows are included here, but in a game with so many playable characters we’ll certainly have tons of great ones to choose from regardless!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s